The Summer School on Public International Law

Through courses taught by leading scholars and practitioners the Summer School on Public International Law provides working with or aspiring to work in the area of Public International Law with an opportunity to obtain advanced knowledge of the subject and encourages participants to engage in independent research

Registration PHOTO / VIDEO

Programme and Experts

10 lectures 75 minutes each,
2 seminars
General Course on Public International Law
Professor
Tullio Treves

Special courses on the topic "Responsibility in International Law":

5 lectures, 1 seminar
Responsibility of States
James Kateka
Responsibility of International Organisations
Miguel de Serpa Soares
Individual Criminal Responsibility in International Law
Professor
Ivana Hrdličková
Diplomatic Protection
Professor
John Dugard
Countermeasures and Sanctions
Professor
Alina Miron

Other courses on the issues of international law and events aimed to straighten the communications between the students can be held additionally to the General course, Special courses and seminars.

Experts

Tullio Treves
Tullio Treves is an Emeritus Professor of the State University of Milano. He was a judge of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (currently judge ad hoc in the M/V “Norstar” case) and President of its Seabed Disputes Chamber. He was a counsel of different states in international courts and tribunals, consultant to various governments and international organizations. Judge Treves is also a member of the Curatorium of The Hague Academy of International Law since 2010 and previously taught at the Academy. He is a member of many learned societies including Institut de Droit International and author of numerous books and articles on international law, including on the international courts and tribunals.
James Kateka
James Kateka has been a Judge of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea since 2005, and from 2014 to 2017 he was the President of the Tribunal’s Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes. He has also served as the Judge ad hoc in several cases before the International Court of Justice and as an arbitrator in arbitral proceedings. Judge Kateka was Ambassador of Tanzania to the Federal Republic of Germany (1989–1994), to the Russian Federation (1994–1998) and Ambassador to Sweden (1998–2005). He has published numerous articles in various fields of international law.
Miguel de Serpa Soares
Miguel de Serpa Soares was appointed the Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs and United Nations Legal Counsel in September 2013. He oversees the Office of Legal Affairs, the overall objectives of which are to provide a unified central legal service for the United Nations. Mr. Serpa Soares has extensive experience of legal and international affairs, having represented his country in various bilateral and multilateral international forums, including the Sixth Committee of the United Nations General Assembly, the Committee of Public International Law Advisers of the Council of Europe, the International Criminal Court’s Assembly of State Parties and the International Law Working Group of the EU Council. Before taking up his current position, Mr. Serpa Soares was Director General of the Department of Legal Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Portugal from 2008. Between 1999 and 2008 he was the Legal Adviser of the Permanent Representation of Portugal to the EU in Brussels. Mr. Serpa Soares has a degree in Law from the University of Lisbon and a degree in European Law from the College of Europe, Bruges, Belgium. He is a member of a number of entities in the field of International Law and has given lectures on topics of International Law in different Universities worldwide.
Ivana Hrdličková
Ivana Hrdličková is the Presiding Judge of the Appeals Chamber and President of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon. She began her career as a Judge in 1990 and has been presiding over both civil and criminal cases. Judge Hrdličková also specializes in Islamic Shari'a, with a focus on human rights and Islamic finance in international and Islamic law. She is further specialized in the development of the rule of law in post-revolution societies. Judge Hrdličková is also a member of international teams to train judges and lawyers in international public law, international criminal law, rule of law and independence of the judiciary.
John Dugard
John Dugard is an Emeritus Professor of Law of the Universities of Leiden and the Witwatersrand and former Director of the Lauterpacht Centre for International Law, Cambridge. He participated in the drafting of South Africa’s democratic Constitution of 1996. He was a member of the International Law Commission (1997–2011) and Special Rapporteur on the subject of diplomatic protection, UN Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights in the Occupied Palestinian Territory (2001–2008), and Judge ad hoc of the International Court of Justice (2000–2018). He has taught at Hague Academy of International law and has published several books and many articles on international law. He is a member of the Institut de Droit International and an Honorary Member of the American Society of International law.
Alina Miron
Alina Miron is a Professor at the University of Angers. She has a doctorate degree in public international law. She has also acted as counsel and advocate for different States before the International Court of Justice, International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS), European Court of Justice and Arbitral Tribunals. Professor Miron is a Member of the European Society of International Law, International Law Association, Réseau francophone de droit international and various juries of Moot competitions. She is the author of several books and numerous publications. In 2019, Professor Miron will be a guest Professor at the ITLOS-Nippon Foundation Capacity-Building and Training Programme and the United Nations Regional Training Programme in Africa.

Admission

Летняя Школа по международному публичному праву

Летняя Школа по международному публичному праву призвана дать возможность тем, кто изучает эту отрасль права, занимается или планирует заниматься ею, получить дополнительные знания о предмете и стимулировать самостоятельную работу в ходе встреч с ведущими учеными и практиками в этой области

Регистрация ФОТО / ВИДЕО

Программа и эксперты

10 лекций по 75 минут,
2 семинара
Общий курс по международному публичному праву
Профессор
Туллио Тревес (Tullio Treves)

Специальные курсы по теме «Ответственность в международном праве»:

5 лекций, 1 семинар
Ответственность государств
Джеймс Катека (James Kateka)
Ответственность международных организаций
Мигель де Серпа Суареш (Miguel de Serpa Soares)
Международная уголовная ответственность индивида
Профессор
Ивана Хрдличкова (Ivana Hrdličková)
Дипломатическая защита
Профессор
Джон Дугард (John Dugard)
Контрмеры и санкции
Профессор
Алина Мирон (Alina Miron)

В дополнение к общему курсу, спецкурсам и семинарским занятиям могут быть проведены иные мероприятия для слушателей, как по международно-правовой проблематике, так и направленные на улучшение контактов между участниками.

Эксперты

Туллио Тревес (Tullio Treves)
Туллио Тревес является почетным профессором Миланского университета. Ранее он был судьей Международного трибунала по морскому праву (в настоящее время является судьёй ad hoc в деле M/V «Norstar»), а также Президентом Палаты Трибунала по спорам, касающимся морского дна. Он также представлял интересы различных государств в международных судах и трибуналах и был консультантом ряда правительств и международных организаций. Туллио Тревес также является членом кураториума Гаагской Академии международного права с 2010 года, а также преподавал в Академии. Он состоит в многих научных обществах, в том числе в Институте международного права (Institut de Droit International), является автором многочисленных книг и статей по вопросам международного права, в том числе связанным с международными судами и трибуналами.
Джеймс Катека (James Kateka)
Джеймс Катека является судьей Международного трибунала по морскому праву с 2005 года и в период с 2014 по 2017 годы был Президентом Палаты Трибунала по спорам, касающимся окружающей морской среды. Он также выступает в качестве судьи ad hoc в делах, рассматриваемых Международным Судом, а также в качестве арбитра в нескольких арбитражных разбирательствах. Судья Катека был Послом Танзании в Германии (1989–1994 гг.), Российской Федерации (1994–1998 гг.) и Швеции (1998–2005 гг.). Он также является автором многочисленных статей по различным вопросам международного права.
Мигель де Серпа Суареш (Miguel de Serpa Soares)
Мигель де Серпа Суареш был назначен Заместителем Генерального секретаря ООН по правовым вопросам и юрисконсультом ООН в сентябре 2013 года. Он курирует Управление по правовым вопросам, в задачи которого входит обеспечение юридического сопровождения деятельности ООН. Мигель де Серпа Суареш обладает обширным опытом в области права и международных отношений и ранее представлял Португалию на различных двусторонних и многосторонних международных площадках, в том числе в Шестом комитете Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН, Комитете юридических советников Совета Европы по вопросам международного публичного права, Ассамблее государств-участников Статута Международного уголовного суда и Рабочей группе Европейского совета по вопросам международного права. До прихода на нынешнюю должность с 2008 года он был Генеральным директором Департамента по правовым вопросам МИД Португалии. В период с 1999 по 2008 годы был юрисконсультом Постоянного представительства Португалии при ЕС (Брюссель). Мигель де Серпа Суареш получил степень в области права в Лиссабонском университете и степень в области европейского права в Европейском колледже (Брюгге, Бельгия). Он является членом ряда организаций в области международного права и выступает с лекциями в различных университетах мира.
Ивана Хрдличкова (Ivana Hrdličková)
Ивана Хрдличкова является председательствующим судьей в Апелляционной палате и Председателем Специального трибунала по Ливану. Ее судейская карьера началась в 1990 году, она рассматривала как гражданские, так и уголовные дела. Кроме того, Ивана Хрдличкова специализируется на Шариатском праве и особенно на правах человека и исламском финансировании в международном и исламском праве. Она также специализируется на развитии верховенства права в постреволюционных обществах. Ивана Хрдличкова принимает участие в работе международных групп по обучению судей и юристов в сфере международного публичного права, международного уголовного права, а также по вопросам верховенства права и независимой судебной системы.
Джон Дугард (John Dugard)
Джон Дугард является почетным профессором Лейденского и Витватерсрандского университетов и ранее был Директором Лаутерпахтского центра исследований в области международного права (Кембриджский университет). Он участвовал в разработке демократической Конституции ЮАР 1996 года. В период с 1997 по 2011 годы Профессор Дугард был членом Комиссии по международному праву и специальным докладчиком по теме «Дипломатическая защита». Он также был Специальным докладчиком ООН по вопросу о положении в области прав человека на палестинских территориях (2001–2008) и судьей ad hoc в Международном Суде (2000–2018). Профессор Дугард преподавал в Гаагской академии международного права и является автором нескольких книг и множества статей по вопросам международного права. Он является членом Института международного права (Institut de Droit International) и почетным членом Американской ассоциации международного права.
Алина Мирон (Alina Miron)
Алина Мирон является профессором юридического факультета Университета Анже и имеет докторскую степень по международному публичному праву. Она также имеет опыт представления интересов различных государств в Международном Суде, Международном трибунале по морскому праву (МТМП), Суде Европейского союза, а также в арбитражных разбирательствах. Профессор Мирон состоит в Европейском обществе международного права, Ассоциации международного права, Французском обществе по международному праву. Она является автором нескольких книг и многочисленных публикаций. В 2019 году она также будет лектором Программы Фонда «Ниппон» по наращиванию потенциала и обучению при МТМП и Региональной программе обучения ООН в Африке.

Условия участия