The International Law in the 21st Century Award

Interview with the winner of the Award, Georgy Suvorov
Russia, Moscow, July 2022. Source: ICLRC
More video

The winner receives the International Law in the 21st Century Award, a diploma, and a prize of 300,000 ₽.

A group of Russian experts in public international law, including Vladlen Vereschetin, Roman Kolodkin, Sergey Punzhin, Leonid Skotnikov, Bakhtiyar Tuzmukhamedov, and Aleksandr Khodakov came up with the idea of establishing the Award.

The Competition is held annually. It seeks to promote and foster in-depth research in public international law and support original research within the field.


The Competition is conducted in accordance with the Regulations of the Competition  , and the Submission Rules  , as well as the established practice.

  1. Research papers can be submitted either in Russian or English and should address one or a few Climate Change and International Law (e.g., Sea-Level Rise and International Law; Climate Change and Human Rights, Migration; Climate Change and Issues of Responsibility in International Law);

    Subsidiary Means for the Determination of International Law / Subsidiary Sources of International Law;

    International Treaties, Other Legally Binding Agreements, Non-Legally Binding Agreements;

    Artificial Intelligence and International Law;

    The Eurasian Economic Union and International Law;

    Investor-State Dispute Settlement Reform.
     specified in Appendix 1 to the Submission Rules  .
  2. The research papers accepted for participation in the competition shall be:
    • prepared by one author;
    • not published previously, or published no earlier than
      January 1, 2022;
    • of 1 ∙ 2 author’s sheets (40,000 ∙ 80,000 characters);
    • not submitted to the Competition previously (it is not recommended to submit papers substantially repeating those that were previously submitted to the competition);
  3. Only citizens of the Russian Federation under 35 years old, who completed higher legal education in law and / or hold a postgraduate degree in law, are eligible to take part in the competition.

The winner is selected by the Council of the Award, consisting of international law practitioners and scholars.

Assessing submitted papers, the Council of the Award takes into account an in-depth of research in a selected subject, novelty and practical value of findings, the quality of analysis of the applicable law, the usage of up-to-date doctrine, the logic and clarity of writing, and the extent to which thesis statements formulated by an author are well-founded and reasoned.

Please, note that plagiarism is unacceptable. The Organizer checks the research papers for plagiarism, including by using special automated systems. The Council of the Award will be informed about cases of plagiarism and incorrect citation.

We encourage the contestants to use the resources of the ICLRC Library   for the preparation of their papers (email:

Prize winners

Lawyer at Sokolov, Maslov & Partners, student at MGIMO University under Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia, member of the MGIMO team at the Leiden Air Law Moot Court International Law Competition. He has a number of publications on the subject of private international law.

Award winning paper Legal Status of the City of Jerusalem under International Law

Associate at Clifford Chance (international arbitration and litigation). Holds an LLB from Lomonosov Moscow State University (2015) and an MJur from the University of Oxford (2016), where he was a Hill scholar and awarded the Volterra Fietta Prize for International Dispute Settlement. In 2018, the London Court of International Arbitration awarded him the Gillis Wetter Memorial Prize for International Arbitration.

Award winning paper The role of equity in the assessment of damages under custom: where are Diallo and the Arctic Sunrise taking the law?

Outstanding works